top of page

Travel in India.

Lets talk about one of the scariest, exciting, eye opening things about India; travel. We took so many different types of transport, from Tuk-Tuks, to taxi's, to private busses, to overnight trains, to public busses, to small cars, to vans. And those were just a few of the ones we took, not taking into account the hundred or so other forms of transport, that people in India take on a daily basis. Its madness, completely unorganised madness. From a month in India, we traveled on four different types of trains, five different types of busses, countless cars and taxis and a few tuk-tuks. The thing about India is that there are no rules, no speed limits, the yellow line between the road is more like a 'guide line' and they honk like there is no tomorrow, boy do they HONK! You'd think that you would get in trouble by not honking, the way those people toot their horns, except thats right, no rules, remember? Anyway. Here are some photos from a few of the transportations we took,

This was taken as we drove up the Rohtang Pass, one of the windiest, steepest drives I have ever been on, we reached 4,200mt high with eight people shoved into a tiny Taxi for four hours.

This is my cute friend Meg on the Toy train as we descended 1,000mt, went over 200 bridges and went through 104 tunnels!

5am during a thunderstorm at the Delhi Trains station, the busiest train station in the world! This was what our first two hours in India looked like.

One of the scariest things we had to do was board a train at 12am in Kalkar and sleep until 6am. This was a text I sent my dad when I got to my hotel after the overnight train; "It was 11:50pm when we boarded the train, dark but very very hot, we had already been on another train for six hours and had arrived in Kalkar, we got split up 11 of us in one carriage 8 of us in the other, the train carriages were very old with four beds up the wall, Will, Anthi and I were together I was on the very top of bunks, Will was under me with some other Indian under him, the carriages were packed and so dark it was the weirdest coolest experience ever! I had to climb up very high and had my two packs shoved up one end of the bed I had to curl up very small and hold on tight, but I slept like a baby for 6 hours, but we had to wake up and do 40 minute watches to make sure everyone was safe, my watch was from 12:40am until 1:20am, we arrived this morning in Jaipur at 6am, so that's the story of the overnight train hahah I'll tell it in more detail when I get home"

This is what the outside of the overnight train looked like, third class.

Inside the overnight train!

Anthi and I on our top bunks.

The Private bus we spent 13 hours on, with only one stop, from Chandigar to Menali.

iPhone shots of the bus ride :)

road safe? I think not.

My first ever Tuk-Tuk ride, can you see the excitement and fear on my face, haha.

Despite the crazy, scary and exciting travel we did in India, I survived! and now I feel like I can do anything, I will never complain about the 2 hour drive to Melbourne after the multiple 13 hour bus rides we took and I will never be scared of windy roads after the Rohtang Pass. I am a new and improved traveler.

I hope you enjoyed!

XO Hayleigh

bottom of page